Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees are appointed to four-year terms by the County of San Diego Board of Supervisors. Prior to the expiration of their term, if the Trustee is seeking re-appointment, the Trustee will submit an "Application for County of San Diego Board" to the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors requesting re-appointment. The appropriate Supervisor will review the information and then request action by the Board of Supervisors at a regular Board meeting. If you are interested in becoming a Trustee for the North County Cemetery District, please contact one of the Board of Supervisors to express your interest.

The major function of the trustees is to set policy, define goals and objectives, adopt rules and regulations, and act as legal custodian for District property. The Board has employed a General Manager to carry out policy, direct District operations, provide day-to-day supervision of staff and control and administer District expenditures. The Board and General Manager are required to take ethics training every two-years.

Tanis Brown

Chair of the Board

Tanis Brown was appointed on June 28, 2016 by Supervisor Bill Horn. Her term of office will expire on January 6, 2020.

Michael D. Ott

Vice Chair of the Board

Michael D. Ott was appointed to the Board of Trustees in September 12th of 2017. His term will expire January 2nd, 2021.He was appointed by Supervisor Bill Horn.

Steven Lochridge


Steven Lochridge was appointed to the Board of Trustees in April of 2012 by Supervisor Pam Slater-Price to fill a vacancy. He was re-appointed to a four year term which will expire January 2, 2021.

Tom Knight


Tom Knight was appointed to the Board of Trustees in May of 2013 to fill a vacant position. He was re-appointed by Supervisor Kristin Gaspar for a new 4 year term to expire January 4, 2022.

Sharon Disney


Sharon Disney was appointed to the Board in February of 2011, by Supervisor Pam Slater-Price. Her current term will expire on January 2, 2023.

Edward Serna

General Manager

The General Manager of the District is Edward Serna.